DWI Is Serious. Get Serious Legal Help.

If you have been arrested and charged with DWI or are under investigation for pending charges in Bexar County or anywhere in Texas, don't wait to see what the police will do next. Don't say another word. Don't take another test. Call Vela & Del Fierro, PLLC, Attorneys at Law, in San Antonio, immediately.

Potential Penalties Are Harsh

The first time you are arrested for a DWI is a misdemeanor, but if you get a conviction, you are looking at more serious consequences if you are arrested a second time for the same type of offense.

For a first-offense DWI in Texas, you face these potential penalties:

  • Jail — minimum 30 days, maximum 180 days
  • Driver's license suspension
  • Fine: Up to $2,000
  • Annual surcharge for driver's license renewal: Up to $2,000 for consecutive years

If you are convicted a second time for DWI within five years, the potential penalties increase:

  • Jail: Minimum 30 days, up to one year
  • Driver's license suspension
  • Fine: Up to $4,000
  • Other penalties: Evaluation for possible rehab treatment; probation; ignition interlock device

A third arrest may be charged as a felony DWI, which carries harsher and more serious consequences. In addition, depending on whether you have prior convictions for DWI, there may be some bail bond conditions ordered by the court prior to your release from the jail.

A DWI conviction may also result in very serious consequences, including but not limited to, following increased insurance costs; probation fees and substantial yearly surcharges assessed by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Contact Our Texas Drunk Driving Defense Law Firm In San Antonio Right Away

Don't say another word to the police or prosecutor until you have one of our aggressive DWI defense attorneys at your side. Call us at 210-617-3925 or send an email to schedule a consultation with one of our lawyers immediately.