free consultation
210-617-3925

criminal defense Archives

Rookie running back accused of gun charge, marijuana possession

Cases against sports figures regarding drug usage have become rather commonplace in Texas and nationwide. A recent incident at a state university involved the arrest of D'Onta Foreman, a highly touted rookie running back for the Houston Texans. University police charged him with marijuana possession and the unlawful carrying of a weapon.

Drug charges for possession may qualify for deferred sentence

Texas residents have traditionally faced steep criminal penalties for state or federal violations of the controlled substances laws. Extended jail sentences for drug sales, and sometimes for mere possession, have been structured into the criminal justice protocol for decades since the inception of the war on drugs. Mandatory minimum sentences for certain drug charges have been harshly applied and utilized to bring about the mass incarceration of minority members.

Adult age of 18 still allows transfer for violent offenses

Texas is one of the few states that requires a 17-year-old person to be tried as an adult in the state's criminal justice system. Most states designate 18 as the age of adulthood for purposes of prosecution in the adult court. Of course, young people under 18 are always subject to being prosecuted as an adult if they are charged with violent offenses, such as murder.

Police: Man who saved his fiancee gets felony charge

Sometimes a defendant may be arrested for what appears to be an outlandish reason. When that happens, the defendant may have a strong defense to assert, especially if the dispute is taken to a jury trial for determination. In a recent incident in Montgomery County, Texas, for example, Sheriff's deputies arrested a man on felony gun charges because he shot at two masked men who were attacking and kidnapping his fiancée.

What to do when you face a second or subsequent DWI in Texas

A first DUI offense typically gives you some leeway in how you're charged and the penalties you face, but if you've found you're facing a second or third, the court will become more strict with you. Fortunately, you still have the right to a strong defense to help make sure you receive fair treatment. Your attorney may talk to you about potential defenses and will work to help you avoid penalties if possible. Here are some things you should consider when you're facing a second or third DUI.

Marijuana bill to de-criminalize possession of an ounce or less

A proposed bill has been submitted to the Texas legislature that would lessen the penalties for possessing a small amount of marijuana down to a fine of $250 and no jail term. Importantly, the bill is apparently being supported by law enforcement agencies in the state. Various current and former police officers testified in Austin in favor of the bill to reduce marijuana penalties and, in effect, decriminalize a small amount for personal use.

Man found in judge's yard charged with misdemeanor trespass

Criminal trespass in Texas involves going onto someone else's property without consent. The crime is a misdemeanor under state law. For a conviction, the law requires that the accused must have received effective notice not to trespass. Alternatively, the accused will be found guilty if he or she does not leave the property after being told to do so.

7 arrested on misdemeanor criminal mischief charges

Criminal mischief in Texas is the intentional destruction, tampering with, or damaging of another person's property. It can consist of making marks, graffiti, inscriptions, drawings and the like on another's property. Generally, criminal mischief can be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending upon the seriousness of the facts and upon the value of the property damage.

Could Texas legalize medical marijuana?

Numerous individuals living in the state of Texas, who are suffering from chronic conditions like cancer, seizures and other ailments, could potentially be helped through the supervised prescribed use of various forms of medical marijuana. However, in Texas, most forms of medical marijuana are illegal.

What happens if I have received my third DWI offense?

In Texas, your first two DWI convictions are usually considered misdemeanors. However, your third DWI conviction is categorized as a third degree felony. It does not matter how long ago you received your first two convictions, they will still count as priors.

Call or Email Anytime To Schedule A Free Initial Consultation

Start by getting your questions answered. Call our offices in San Antonio at 210-617-3925 or send an email with a brief explanation of your legal needs. We will schedule an opportunity to have you meet with one of our lawyers as soon as possible.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Get Answers Within 24 Hours | Call 210-617-3925 or Email our bilingual staff for a Free Consultation. Se Habla Español

Review Us
Get a Free Consultation

Office Location

Vela & Del Fierro, PLLC, Attorneys at Law
210 E. Cevallos Street
San Antonio, Texas 78204

Phone: 210-617-3925
Fax: 210-227-4818
Map & Directions